New Album 'Food' Out Now & Worldwide Tour

Kelis - New Album 'Food' Out Now & Worldwide Tour

“Boisterous, fun as fuck soul rework” - Vice 8/10

"A fabulous and immediate record" - Clash 8/10

"Sizzling" - The Observer (Album of the Week)

"A steamy musical stew of old soul funkiness seasoned for a modern palate.” - The Telegraph 5/5

Kelis' sixth studio album, Food is out now and available worldwide on 2LP, CD and digitally from the Ninjashop, iTunes and Amazon, also yours to stream in full on Spotify,Rdio and Deezer.

Kelis describes the album as "a kind of unspoken lovefest”, involving two unlikely partners; it is a startling combination of her most frank and vulnerable vocals to date, with Dave Sitek's inimitable sonic imprint. Littered with transcendent, Spector-esque lift, warm bottom ends and vast depth, the music is the perfect backdrop for Kelis’ unique voice. The latter has only improved with time and experience, and the album candidly explores pain, happiness and everything in between.

Recorded at Sitek’s house in LA (and entirely produced by him), the album mints a sound that’s rootsy without ever being self-consciously retro, that pitches live horns and gospel organ against electronics, that for all its classic soul and funk influences, couldn’t have been made any time but now.

Next month Kelis embarks on a worldwide including performances on Glastonbury's Pyramid Stage, headline slots at Brighton's Great Escape and Somerset House, plus an intimate showcase at London's oldest surviving Music Hall, Wilton's, with many more to be announced - see full dates below.

Thu 8 May @ Wilton's Music Hall, London, UK - TICKETS
Sat 10 May @ The Dome, Brighton, UK - TICKETS
Mon 12 May @ Gaite Lyrique, Paris, FR - TICKETS
Tue 13 May @ MC Theater, Amsterdam, NL - TICKETS
Thu 15 May @ Thonex Live, Geneva, CH - TICKETS
Fri 16 May @ Kaufleuten, Zurich, CH - TICKETS
Mon 2 Jun @ The Fillmore, San Francisco, California, US - TICKETS
Tue 3 Jun @ House of Blues, San Diego, California, US - TICKETS
Wed 4 Jun @ El Rey Theatre, San Francisco, California, US - TICKETS
Mon 9 Jun @ Park West, Chicago, Illinois, US - TICKETS
Wed 11 Jun @ Danforth Music Hall, Toronto, Ontario, CA - TICKETS
Fri 13 Jun @ Webster Hall, New York, US - TICKETS
Sun 15 Jun @ 9:30 Club, Washington, DC, US - TICKETS
Fri 28 Jun @ Glastonbury, Somerset, UK - TICKETS
Fri 29 Jun @ Sea Sessions Surf & Music Festival, Bundoran, IE - TICKETS
Sat 5 Jul @ Nibe Festival, Nibe, DK - TICKETS
Sun 6 Jul @ De Wereld Draait Buiten, Amsterdam, NL - TICKETS
Mon 14 Jul @ Somerset House, London, UK - TICKETS
Thu 18 Jul @ Latitude Festival, Suffolk, UK - TICKETS
Sat 19 Jul @ Pori Jazz Festival, Pori, FI - TICKETS
Fri 25 Jul @ Fuji Rock, Nigata, JP - TICKETS
Sat 16 Aug @ Pukkelpop, Steenweg, BE - TICKETS
Sat 23 Aug @ Tauron Nowa Muzyka @ Katowice, PL - TICKETS
Fri 29 Aug @ The Big Feastival, Kingham, UK - TICKETS

Kelis Articles

<< Previous

Kelis - 'Change' (Quadrant, Kid Hops & Iris Remix)

Drum & Bass dons Quadrant, Kid Hops & Iris turn in a gritty, heavyweight remix of Kelis' track Change, lifted off her 2014 album and sixth of its kind, Food; out now digitally at the Ninjashop / iTunes

Read More

New Music from FaltyDL, The Bug, Mr. Scruff & DELS on Spotify

Listen to tracks from FaltyDL's new album out this week, The Bug's double-edged Angels & Devils LP, Mr. Scruff, upcoming DELS for Big Dada & more - via our New Releases Spotify playlist.

Read More

Kelis 'Food Remixes' 12" Out Now

Featuring edits from Warp residents Mount Kimbie (on "Jerk Ribs"), Darq E Freaker, Visionist and Rob Garza (on "Friday Fish Fry") and Machinedrum's Runnin' rework - Ninjashop / Amazon

Read More

Darq E Freaker Reworks Kelis "Friday Fish Fry"

South London producer and Numbers-regular, Darq E Freaker, drops a blissed-out remix of "Friday Fish Fry", taken from Kelis' sixth studio album, Food, released 11 August on 12".

Read More

Other Articles

<< Previous

Bonobo - Launches Outlier Event Series

Simon Green, aka Bonobo launches Outlier, a new international events series launching in March 2016 at London’s Tobacco Dock. Register here for access to priority First Release tickets.

Read More

Beat Spacek iOS Mixtape - Limited Cassette

Featuring 60 mins of 100% exclusive unreleased beats from Beat Spacek produced entirely using apps on iOS. Limited cassette tape available at the Ninjashop.

Read More

The Cinematic Orchestra - Paris Show at Le Trianon

One behalf of The Cinematic Orchestra we can confirm their live performance at Le Trianon in Paris will go ahead next Monday 23 November.

Read More

Ninja Tune 25 in London & Los Angeles - This Weekend

This Friday Actress (Werkdiscs / Ninja Tune) presents an all-new live show at London's ICA ahead of our LA party with Bonobo (DJ Set), Jon Hopkins and more the following night.

Read More