Solid Steel Radio 09/11/2012 - Jesse Boykins III, Hexstatic & Eddie Piller

Solid Steel in association with Serato (9th November) 

Robin Hexstatic in the house this week celebrating the official release of new EP There's Been a Terrible Mix-Up and the accompanying mix anthology DVD-R. We start with Eats Everything and their cheeky sampling 'The Size'. Rising star Eliphino next with his big tune from last year 'More Than Me' and into the lovely 'Shadows' from Throwing Snow. New Music from Ninja with FaltyDL and then into new 'Hexstatic presents' track 'Little John', a Bandcamp exclusive addition to the EP and available free here: . Classic house from Alcatraz and then into two remixes by Disclosure from Q-Tip and Emili Sande respectively. Another classic track given the remix treatment, Marshall Jefferson and the excellent Trevino remix of 'Mushrooms'. Haunting grooves from Bicep and Ejeca mix nicely into Solid Steel revival favourite, Burial's Archangel,.. given a dance floor beef up from Boy 8-Bit. A thumping remix of Roots Manuva's 'Get The Get' next and we finish on an early track from Julio Bashmore,..'Jack The Mack' sampling 'that' classic vocal to bring this 'House' influenced mix to a fine end.

It's a guest mix from Eddie Piller in hour 2 as he celebrates 25 years of his Acid Jazz label with a comprehensive box set of over 5 hours of music across several genres which scans the key periods in Acid Jazz history. We open with a declaration from Curtis Mayfield and into folk flavoured sounds from Crosby, Stills & Nash and Terry Callier RIP, who was brought out of retirement by Eddie Piller himself. Jimmy Smith and Erma Franklin feature from the box set and it's into the Nas sampling Dance Inna New York by Super Cat, Latin Soul from Tony Middleton and rare Northern Soul from James Barnett to close.

We end with an interview with Jesse Boykins III' who talks about his new album Zulu Guru, a collaboration with MC/producer MeLo-X, and plays tracks from the album. He also discusses his five essential music picks, including music from the likes of Eric Roberson and Stevie Wonder.